View camera online in Canarias, La Laguna

San Cristobal de la Laguna is a city and municipality in Spain, part of the province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife in the autonomous community of the Canary Islands. It is considered the cultural capital of the Canary Islands. Merged with the nearby city of Santa Cruz. Watch camera online in La Laguna Geography The city is located on the island of Tenerife. Covers an area of ​​102.06 km². Population 152,222 people (2010). The former capital of the Canary Islands. The city is located in close proximity to Santa Cruz de Tenerife, connected to it by a tram line. History The city was founded in 1496 on the site of the Guanche settlements - Tegueste. The location in the interior of the island was not chosen by chance - an attempt to protect the city from attacks by pirates who regularly plundered the coastal cities. The city was finally formed in the 16th century. Its construction was based on the principles of the Renaissance era, based on mathematical formulas and the use of navigation equipment in the construction of streets. The city had a lattice structure - intersecting straight streets formed quarters. The city of La Laguna was the first non-fortress city, the principles of its construction were applied by the Spaniards in the construction of cities in North America. The city is the center of the Diocese of Tenerife, whose cathedral is the Cathedral of San Cristobal de la Laguna. The city is also home to the famous churches of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the Royal Cathedral of Christ la Laguna. The first convent of the city is the Monastery of Saint Clara of Assisi. In the monastery of St. Catherine of Siena there are the imperishable relics of Maria de Leon Bello y Delgado. Since 1999, the city has been included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Country code: